BUSH: Listen To New Song 'Dystopia'

“Dystopia”, a brand new song from BUSH, can be streamed using the SoundCloud widget below. The track is taken from the band’s new album, “Black And White Rainbows”, which will be released on March 10.

Written, recorded and produced by Gavin Rossdale, “Black And White Rainbows” is the follow-up to 2014’s “Man On The Run” and will arrive just prior to BUSH‘s headlining tour of North America, which kicks off May 4 in Dallas, Texas.

“I wanted to write a record about what it’s like coming out of a cannon before you take off through these watershed times,” Rossdale, who founded BUSH 25 years ago in London and produced “Black And White Rainbows”, told Billboard. “I think it really is important to have the element of hope and repair and sunshine because it’s such a divided world now. It’s so divided and crazy and unstable and vulnerable. It’s fallen at my feet as a lyricist to consider the position that we’re in — and unfortunately chaos makes for really fertile ground to write from.”

“[‘Dystopia’] was where the record takes a really interesting turn,” according to Rossdale. “It’s a real hybrid of stuff I like, using machines and analog stuff — the band plus machines,” he explained. “I was just thinking of this dystopian world, this underbelly of frustration and fear and persecution and distrust just everything that’s going on around us all the time. You have a president who half the country voted for and suddenly nobody voted for him. Nobody can make their mind up about him. So it’s a very strange time, all the way around.”

Among “Black And White Rainbows”‘s highlights is the sweeping chorus of “Lost In You” and “People At War”, which was written last summer in honor of World Refugee Day.

Gavin stated about “People At War”: “Having seen the footage of innocent refugees forced to flee their homes and lives, culminating in the picture of the young boy, Aylan Kurdi, lying dead on the shore — the horror of that photograph, as a father, as a human being — was too powerful to avoid. It was the catalyst to write this song and to show empathy with the plight of the refugees.”

When asked about the sound of the follow-up to 2014’s “Man On The Run”, the 51-year-old rocker told Metro: “My whole career I’ve been trying to make music that’s a hybrid of rock and electronic. I’d say it’s a textured, approachable and commercial record. People are going to fucking love it.”

“Black And White Rainbows” track listing:

01. Mad Love
02. Peace-s
03. Water
04. Lost In You
05. Sky Turns Day Glo
06. Toma Mi Corazon
07. All The Worlds Within You
08. Nurse
09. The Beat of Your Heart
10. Dystopia
11. Ray Of Light
12. Ravens
13. Nothing But A Car Chase
14. The Edge of Love
15. People At War

BUSH is comprised of Gavin Rossdale (vocals/guitar), Robin Goodridge (drums), Chris Traynor (guitar) and Corey Britz (bass).

Source: HRRL News Feed via Blabbermouth.net
BUSH: Listen To New Song 'Dystopia'
HRRL News Feed via Blabbermouth.net

Please follow and like us:
BUSH: Listen To New Song 'Dystopia'
Tagged on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *