Reactivated U.K. Death Metallers CANCER To Release 'Shadow Gripped' Album In November

U.K. death metal veterans CANCER will release their new album, “Shadow Gripped”, on November 2 via Peaceville. The disc was recorded at Foel studios in Wales with Simon Efemy (PARADISE LOST, NAPALM DEATH, AMORPHIS) handling production and mixing duties alongside the band, with further recording taking place in Spain.

One of the U.K.’s premiere death metal purveyors of the late ’80s and early ’90s, including a major label spell on East West/Warner with 1995’s “Black Faith”, CANCER now marks 30 years since its formation by announcing its much-anticipated sixth full length album, reuniting all three original core members — John Walker on guitar/vocals, Ian Buchanan on bass and Carl Stokes on drums — for the first time since 1995.

With fan demand and interest in the rejuvenated band ever increasing, CANCER has been busy playing festivals over the last three years in support of re-releases of the first three albums, delivering their own punishing brand of death metal to fans old and new. This was the much-needed catalyst that spurred the band on to return to their classic inspirational sound when writing new material.

“Shadow Gripped” includes a free exclusive bonus track download of “Crocodile Itch”, delivered on release date with each CD or vinyl pre-order. The effort features a guest appearance by Anders Nyström of Swedish deathlords BLOODBATH, who comments: “Believe it or not, but KATATONIA used to play a CANCER cover in our early live sets. Yup, that’s right — ‘Burning Casket’! We then saw ourselves go on and form a little death metal band based on the opening track of ‘To The Gory End’, and hey, we all know that one, don’t we? Last year we ended up recording this song and put it out on a seven-inch EP and I thought it probably won’t get any better than this, but it did, as I was given the honor to put down a guest solo on their new ball-cutting album! CFC is back and it has me even more stoked than Carl is Stokes!”

CANCER said in a statement: “We are delighted to have signed a recording deal with such an esteemed label as Peaceville. We have full confidence that they understand this metal and CANCER as a band. Together we want to deliver an album that celebrates our 30-year existence and the old-school death metal sound that we played a part in creating back in 1988 when the band was conceived. So rejoice and hoist the bunting fashioned from flaps of skin, and fill your balloons with the last gasp of a dying man! We are back from the dead. CFC.”

“Shadow Gripped” track listing:

01. Down The Steps
02. Garrotte
03. Ballcutter
04. Organ Snatcher
05. The Infocidal
06. Half Man Half Beast
07. Crimes So Vile
08. Thou Shalt Kill
09. Shadow Gripped
10. Disposer

Source: HRRL News Feed via
Reactivated U.K. Death Metallers CANCER To Release 'Shadow Gripped' Album In November
HRRL News Feed via

Please follow and like us:
Reactivated U.K. Death Metallers CANCER To Release 'Shadow Gripped' Album In November
Tagged on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *