HEAVY AS TEXAS Feat. EXHORDER Members: Self-Titled Album Due In April

Acclaimed guitarist Marzi Montazeri and vocalist Kyle Thomas — otherwise recognized as members of Louisiana-based metal pioneers EXHORDER (named by Spin as one of the “30 Greatest Thrash Bands of All Time”) — have announced their aggressive metal project HEAVY AS TEXAS.

HEAVY AS TEXAS plans to release its self-titled album on April 19 via Crunchy Western Records. Pre-orders are available now via iTunes and the band’s official web site.

A Mark Borchardt-directed music video for the new HEAVY AS TEXAS track titled “To Keep a Promise” can be seen below.

For the album, HEAVY AS TEXAS tapped renowned drummer Anup Sastry (Marty Friedman, Jeff Loomis, SKYHARBOR) and notable engineer and multi-instrumentalist Chris Collier (KORN, PRONG, WINDS OF PLAGUE) on bass. Currently, the Houston, Texas-based band’s lineup is rounded out by full time members Lenwood Sonnier on bass, and James Goetz on drums.

The HEAVY AS TEXAS album was produced by Montazeri, with mix and mastering duties by Collier.

Montazeri says: “I started this project simply because I wanted to perform new music but wasn’t able to sing and play complex rhythms at the same time. So I thought, I’ll stick to my strengths — the guitar and writing songs! I brought in a vocalist that would fit it perfectly — the one and only Kyle Thomas! As soon as Kyle joined, everything musically fell into place.”

After the album drops, HEAVY AS TEXAS plans to begin writing their next effort and to hit the road in support of both. Montazeri adds: “I want to play our music for everyone all over this planet. We have stayed true to our art through complete artistic integrity and we display that live, so it is our duty to get it out to the people and celebrate our own brand of music.”

Heavy metal fans may also recognize Montazeri for his contributions to various projects featuring Philip Anselmo throughout the years, as well as his performances with the annual Randy Rhoads Remembered events at NAMM. Vocalist Kyle Thomas is also recognized for his time with TROUBLE and ALABAMA THUNDERPUSSY.

“Heavy As Texas” track listing:

01. To Keep a Promise
02. It’s On
03. Death of a Prodigy
04. Blind
05. Reality Check
06. King of Fools
07. From This Day On
08. Love Gets Us All

Source: HRRL News Feed via Blabbermouth.net
HEAVY AS TEXAS Feat. EXHORDER Members: Self-Titled Album Due In April
HRRL News Feed via Blabbermouth.net

Please follow and like us:
HEAVY AS TEXAS Feat. EXHORDER Members: Self-Titled Album Due In April
Tagged on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Are You Enjoying HRRL? Please spread the word \m/