RUSH's 'Time Machine 2011: Live In Cleveland' To Be Released On Vinyl In June

In 2010, RUSH took a break from recording what would become the band’s final studio album — “Clockwork Angels” — to launch its “Time Machine Tour”. During that tour, the Rock And Roll Hall Of Famers recorded their April 15, 2011 performance in Cleveland. It was a fitting tribute to the city, which was the first to play RUSH‘s music on the radio.

That epic concert was released on CD in 2011, but the full show has never come out on vinyl, until now. “Time Machine 2011: Live In Cleveland” will be available on June 7 as a four-LP set.

The “Time Machine Tour” was a fan favorite thanks in part to the tour’s incredible set list, which encompassed songs from the group’s entire career. Another reason is that Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart did something during these shows that they’d never done before, which was to play their quadruple-platinum album “Moving Pictures” (1981) in its entirety.

It remains the band’s best-selling record in the United States where it reached No. 3 on the album chart. In the band’s native Canada, it hit No. 1. In addition to the singles, “Limelight”, “Tom Sawyer” and “Vital Signs”, “Moving Pictures” also earned the band a Grammy nomination for the instrumental track “YYZ”. Named for the airport code in Toronto, the song’s rhythm is based on the letters Y-Y-Z played in Morse code.

“Time Machine 2011: Live In Cleveland” covers a lot of musical ground over 26 tracks. RUSH‘s early days are represented by songs like “Working Man” from the trio’s 1974 self-titled debut, “2112 Overture” from the 1976 classic “2112”, and “Closer To The Heart” from “A Farewell To Kings” (1977).

The group’s fantastic output from the 1980s gets its due with performances of “Subdivisions” (“Signals”, 1982), “Marathon” (“Power Windows”, 1985), “Time Stand Still” (“Hold Your Fire”, 1987) and the title track from 1989’s “Presto”.

During the concert, RUSH also showcased its then-most recent work — 2007’s “Snakes & Arrows” — by playing three songs from that album: “Far Cry”, “Workin’ Them Angels” and “Faithless”. The band also took the opportunity to treat fans to a preview of “Caravan” and “BU2B”, two songs that would eventually appear on “Clockwork Angels” (2012), the band’s nineteenth, and final, studio album.

“Time Machine 2011: Live In Cleveland” LP track listing

Side A

01. The Spirit of Radio
02. Time Stand Still
03. Presto
04. Stick It Out

Side B

01. Workin’ Them Angels
02. Leave That Thing Alone
03. Faithless
04. BU2B

Side C

01. Freewill
02. Marathon
03. Subdivisions

Side D

01. Tom Sawyer
02. Red Barchetta
03. YYZ
04. Limelight

Side E

01. The Camera Eye
02. Witch Hunt
03. Vital Signs

Side F

01. Caravan
02. Moto Perpetuo – featuring “Love For Sale

Side G

01. O’Malley’s Break
02. Closer to the Heart
03. 2112 Overture/The Temples of Syrinx
04. Far Cry

Side H

01. La Villa Strangiato
02. Working Man

Source: HRRL News Feed via
RUSH's 'Time Machine 2011: Live In Cleveland' To Be Released On Vinyl In June
HRRL News Feed via

RUSH's 'Time Machine 2011: Live In Cleveland' To Be Released On Vinyl In June
Tagged on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Are You Enjoying HRRL? Please spread the word \m/